Color Blocking: Du Vin et De l’Or

I’m a sucker for vintage. I can’t help myself (sorry I’m not sorry) so if I see something that might appear on an episode of Mad Men (or my new intrigue, Pan Am) I’ll at least try it on. This skirt – possibly because of the off-beat mustard color, old school shape, whimsical swirls and the funky belt – is just that. A wine colored top with this golden bottom may seem contrasting, but I like it, so we’re going with complementary rather than contrasting. Thoughts?

Skirt – Anthropologie; Top – Target; Necklace & Bracelet – Vintage; Shoes – Target

Okay, so the pattern on the skirt is kind of cheating on the whole “color blocking” thing but hey, I’m easing my way in. Also, allegedly it is fall, and though it is still comfortably in the 80s here in Raleigh, we are receiving some unwelcome frigid temps this weekend (40s, what??) so I went ahead and prepared by buying a bag of candy corn and marshmallow pumpkins. Take that, autumn. Lemons into lemonade, am I right?

Thoughts on the color combo? The vintage intrigue? The autumn candy corn mix?

2 thoughts on “Color Blocking: Du Vin et De l’Or

Leave a Reply

