Ragnar Relay Race, Here I Come!

Against my better judgment (and perhaps against whatever semblance of reasonable decision making abilities I once possessed), I will be running the Ragnar Relay Race from Miami to Key West in January. Yes, you read that right, Miami TO Key West. Yes, they are both in Florida. No, this does not mean they are close to each other.

Miami…

to Key West!

**Note: 90 miles to Cuba

At this point, I’m equal parts terrified and excited about the race. We’re running 198.5 miles in celebration of my sister’s birthday! Woo woo.  Our team is made up of the siblings and some of her friends from high school, college and grad school. It’s going to be so fun – we’re getting decked out in 80’s gear and planning to take the race by storm! Did I mention we are making highlighter colored team jerseys that say “Everybody Wang Chung Tonight”? Pictures to come.

Each team member runs 3 legs of the race over the course of about 30 hours. I hope I get a spooky nighttime run so I can wear a reflect-y vest, buuut then again, I’m not a huge fan of running with scary nocturnal alligators so…  Anyway, I’m runner #8 of 12 and because we’ve got a few marathoners on our team, I got one of the shorter legs. Just a measly old 11.8 miles… (ahh!!!)

I can’t decide if it will be better that it’s broken into 3 legs or if that will make it trickier, but I guess I’ll find out soon! Here is my break down: 3.5 miles, then 6.2 miles and then finish out with 2.1 miles.

Right now my biggest challenge is keeping motivated and trying new things so I don’t get bored. My lovely friend over at sMiles from Callie sent me some great suggestions that should keep me busy. Here’s a little recap of two recent cardio workouts:

Total Distance: 5 miles
Breakdown:
Mile 1 – 9 min pace
Mile 2 – 15 min pace, 12 incline
Mile 3 & 4 – 7 min pace, alternating 15 seconds on, 15 seconds off
Mile 5 – 15 min pace, 10 incline
Mile 6 – 10 min pace and cool down walk
*Because I was only on the treadmill half the time during miles 3 and 4 as I alternated, I went 6 miles but only ran a total of 5.

Total Distance: 4 miles
Breakdown:
2 min – 4.0 pace
5 min – 6.0
1 min – 8.5
2 min – 4.0
5 min – 6.0
Repeat 3 times (or 4 if you’re feeling ambitious!)

Do you have any high intensity, interval or long distance cardio workouts that keep you motivated? 

6 thoughts on “Ragnar Relay Race, Here I Come!

  1. i’m gonna snatch up those workouts and try them myself…yikes. that race looks like fun and torture all in one haha…miami in january is the perfect location!

    1. Let me know how they go, or if you have any suggestions for some other great workouts! I’m definitely in need 🙂 And I can’t wait for Miami in January! It’s already too cold for me.

  2. Ah I’m SO JEALOUS!!!!!!!!!!!! This looks awesome!!! Are you going to follow a half-marathon training plan? It might be helpful! Maybe just follow it until it gets to the 10 mile long run or 11 mile long run (which is usually 8 weeks for so). It might be nice to have a set plan and just check it off as you go so that you know you’re pacing your body and gradually building miles.

    1. I’m feeling a little anxious about the race because my ankle has been giving me some serious issues! I broke it in high school and have sprained it a few times since then because I ignore my physical therapist (dumb haha) and it keeps hurting when I’m trying to train. Yikes! But I’ll let you know how the race goes… T minus 3 weeks 🙂

    2. You’re going to have so much fun doing Ragnar. Your group seems awesome. I rellay didn’t know our whole group that well and they are all in San Diego, so I didn’t get to do any pre-race meet ups and it was still awesome.

Leave a Reply

