Workout Recap: Dreary January, Bright February

I think February is going to be a good month. Dreary January has come to a close and… I know this is a bad thing to say, but I’m hoping the gym will quiet down as the New Years Resolution-ers slowly sift out.

At any rate, my work outs have ebbed and flowed, as was expected, but generally I have been sticking to my routine and hitting those goals! Very satisfying way to start the year. Last week was particularly stressful, so I got off schedule a bit, but not to fear, I’m back and ready for action.

Here is my calendar so far:

I mentioned in my last workout recap that for me, right now, exercise is as much a mental challenge as it is a physical challenge. Well, little by little it has begun to feel like a regular piece of my schedule instead one I have to prepare myself for all day. I love the satisfaction of running and going to the gym, and I love that when I don’t go to the gym, it feels weird!

Highlights: Past 2 Weeks

Elliptical Workouts 1/24, 1/25 & 2/7 : I can blow through an hour on the elliptical without realizing it! I’ll be sweating and have gone 5-6 miles, but something about the low-impact just makes elliptical workouts so much more manageable. (I do the elliptical because posterior shin splints are keeping me down!)

Anyone have any elliptical workout suggestions that will help me when I’m running regularly again?

Hill Workout – 2/5 : What a great workout. The loop was 50% moderately steep uphill, 50% slow downhill slope and I circled it until I hit 3 miles. I wasn’t quite tired, though, so I did  4 more hill sprints and then walked a loop through my neighborhood.

Shelley Lake Loop1/28:  Going walking is my favorite way to catch up with friends. Eva and I did 3 brisk laps around the lake trail this time – almost 6 miles – and it was great. Good friend + being outside + exercise… Could you ask for more?

SMART Goals for February

Feb 12: Run for the Roses 5k –> Run start to finish, no breaks. It doesn’t matter how slow you go, as long as you do it.

Run 3 miles, 3 days each week –> January was about getting used to running 2 miles regularly. New month, new mileage.

Workout or Cross-Train 2 additional days each week –> Walk with a friend, swim, yoga, dance, whatever 🙂

Specific. Measurable. Attainable. Relevant. Time Limited. Yep!

What are your goals for February? (exercise related or not!)

3 thoughts on “Workout Recap: Dreary January, Bright February

  1. I get shin splints pretty easily too, I think the best elliptical workout is intervals or hill, I like to increase the intensity by 3 every 5 minutes for about 30-40 mins and then do a 10-minute gradual cool-down. It’s not easy but makes me feel like I’m getting the same workout as an outside run. I’m gonna try and do some 5ks soon too woohoo! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

