Public Service Announcement: Bring Back The Dance Montage

Happy Thursday! In this week’s PSA, we’ll be discussing the beauty of spontaneous dance routines in film.

In my opinion, movies these days have few too many impromptu group dance montages, so let’s relive a few of the greatest.

First up, She’s All That (1999) – The quintessential group dance scene. The 1990s, prom, crazy hair, tacky fashion, choreography, an over-involved dj… What more could you want?

Second, Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion (1997) – This is a pretty sweet three person choreography that I wish I had an occasion to replicate. But alas, I do not.

Third, Dirty Dancing (1987) – This is a personal favorite. Not only is this one of my favorite movies of all time, but it defined my junior high experience. Every time I babysat, I brought my VHS of Dirty Dancing and watched it. Patrick Swayze was all that is man, bless him.

And finally, the video that inspired it all: Rick Astley’s “Never Gonna Give You Up” – Need I say more?

What is wrong with the film industry these days? I mean, what’s more relatable than you and your friends or co-workers breaking out into song and dance? Sounds like a typical Tuesday for me…

To the film industry: Please reconsider the dance montage. It could be a great asset in 2012. I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

What are some of your favorite 1990’s movies? Have any recent films compared to the 90s rom-com time period in your opinion?

3 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement: Bring Back The Dance Montage

Leave a Reply

