Friday Favorite: Atlanta

This was an obvious choice for my first Friday Favorite.

Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you – I’m going to be posting some Friday Favorites that talk about my favorite cities I’ve been to or lived in.

I have a wanderlust. It’s pretty insatiable, and while I’ve been incredibly blessed in my opportunities to travel, I get the urge to escape, explore, adventure, and experience new places every couple of months.

Unfortunately, I’m an adult. (boo.) Sooo I don’t have the luxury of picking up and taking off into magical travel-world whenever I want to. (job, rent, needing money, blah blah blah. #firstworldproblems) Alas, I will travel when possible, and until then, I will satisfy my wanderlust by reliving my favorite cities right here!

ATL REPRESENT!

I’m from here, have I mentioned that before? (here, and here and… oh yeah, here)

Restaurants:

Jalisco’s – Best Mexican food you’ll ever have. With just one location in Buckhead, this place has a line around the block no matter when you go, and it is worth the wait. Also, you’ve never had cheese dip until you’ve been to Jalisco’s

Seasons 52 – Fresh grill, seasonal menu and delicious bite sized desserts! Self-described as “casually sophisticated ambiance” and I’d definitely agree. Did I mention that nothing on the menu is over 475 calories?

JCT Kitchen – Fairly new to the Atlanta scene, this place is in the west end and has a great setup. The bar upstairs often has live music, while the dining room downstairs boasts a creative and delicious menu. This sums it up well: “JCT evokes a welcoming, low-key rooftop environment.”

Shopping:

Sage – Fun and fashionable, Sage gets new shipments in all the time, so you never feel like you’re staring at the same stuff. Love this little boutique! And it is Atlanta based. Shop local, right?

Festivity – Tons of cute options here as well. Festivity is a fresh and fashion forward boutique that has an eclectic spread of clothes, jewelry and home decor. When I’m in town, I typically find a reason to stop by 🙂

Lenox Square and Phipps Plaza – These malls pretty much have anything you want, from price-conscious to beautiful couture and designer shops. At Lenox: Anthropologie, Neiman Marcus, 7 For All MankindMadewell, Henri Bendel, Zara… You get the picture. Just don’t go on a Saturday, it’s a zoo!

Personality:

Swan Coach House – The Swan House is one of the most beautiful landmarks in Atlanta, and carries so much of Atlanta’s history and personality in it’s story. To get a little taste of that true southern history, stop by the adjacent Swan Coach House for a delicious meal and to explore the art gallery.

Music Midtown – Huge music festival in downtown Atlanta. It got a little too crazy and had to shut down for a few years, but it’s back and better than ever. Summertime and the livin’ is easy 🙂

Atlanta Aquarium – Best in the southeast! (maybe the world, but I’m partial) Visiting the aquarium is a great way to spend an afternoon if you’re in town.

Centennial Park – This is where the 1996 Atlanta Olympics were and it is now an awesome venue for events and concerts throughout the year. During the winter there is also an outdoor ice-skating rink. So fun! Cheap concerts and movie screenings in the summer round out a great year.

And finally, I can’t discuss Atlanta without a shout out to my wonderful alma mater, The Westminster Schools. GO CATS!

Beautiful, isn’t it? If it looks familiar, it might be because the movie “The Blind Side” was filmed on campus (featuring Sandra Bullock and telling the amazing story of Baltimore Ravens offensive tackle Michael Oher.)

And finally, I’ll leave you with the ethereal voice of Alison Krauss singing “Oh Atlanta…” and with the promise that I’ll try to be less sentimental and sappy in future Friday Favorites. Have a great weekend!

One thought on “Friday Favorite: Atlanta

Leave a Reply

