Small Victories That Feel Like Huge Victories

I lost 5 lbs! I want to shout from the mountain tops, “This exercise and healthy eating thing really does work!” Unfortunately, I won’t be near the mountains anytime soon… and I don’t know that I could shout loud enough for anyone to hear, so it would be a futile effort. But in the figurative, joyful way, I’m in the Alps with a megaphone ๐Ÿ™‚

Siblings in the Swiss Alps on the tallest peak in Europe, Jungfraujoch, 2010

For some reason, in my mind, I had decided that even if I did eat more healthy foods and even if I did exercise, for some reason it just wasn’t going to work. I’ve never lost weight in a healthy way before… I’ve just let it slowly creep up on me over time, or I’ve been incredibly compulsive about it (but that is a story for another time), so this whole process is a new world for me!

Anyway, here are a few of my new “habits”… Can you call them habits if they’re new? Irrelevant. They will be habits, if they aren’t already!

1. Kickboxing class on Monday. My booty better watch out, cause kickboxing is coming for it! This class is the bomb – high energy, exhausting and exhilarating. Oh and set to a ridiculously awesome soundtrack.

2. Chicken breast tenders + olive oil spray + seasoning. Cheap, easier to cook than full chicken breasts and delicious! Lean protein, do your magic. Current favorite seasoning: McCormick’s Rotisserie Chicken. Just gotta watch the sodium.

3. Water, water, green tea, water… Get the idea? I carry around a 32 oz water bottle that I try to finish twice each day. When I need a little pick-me-up in the afternoon, Green Tea Superfruit with Purple Acai and Blueberry does the trick. Plus, being full like that helps me avoid snacking. (By the way, I love snacking. And when I say snacking, I mean eating chips/sweets/both.)

Yay for small victories AND for staying focused on the goals ahead. This first loss was a big obstacle for me to get over, so it has excited me to press on. As a reminder about my motivation: at some point, weight stops being about vanity and starts being about taking care of your body, and I want to live life to the fullest by doing just that.

Do you celebrate little victories or stay in the zone until you reach your end goal?

8 thoughts on “Small Victories That Feel Like Huge Victories

    1. Haha thanks!! I love kickboxing, it’s like HEAT but with dancing involved. Totally up my alley ๐Ÿ™‚ You’re such a running/cycling fiend that you don’t need to find other outlets!

  1. Good job! Did you know that soba noodles have about half the calories of regular pasta? I make a big salad with soba and lots of vegetables. It makes me feel great- healthy, tasty and satisfying. It really is the little adjustments that make real change.

    1. I don’t even know what soba noodles are! That’s a great recommendation, though, thanks for passing it along! Do you have a favorite recipe for them on your blog?

      1. Soba noodles are made out of buckwheat; they are used in Japanese dishes a lot. They are so good cold which is nice for hot weather. Here is the recipe I posted: http://wp.me/pM1JD-x7
        Another whole grain salad I love is a short grain rice salad I made after Grace’s wedding: http://wp.me/pM1JD-e6 which has a fat-free dressing.
        Both of these are great to make ahead; I usually make a big bowl of it and eat it for lunch all week!

Leave a Reply

