Trends For Spring: Best and Worst (part 1)

Let’s get real, people. Not everyone is a size 2, and a lot of the typical trends you see each season are only designed to go on bodies that are a size 2. While I encourage everyone to wear what makes them feel good, whether its a trend you just love or a piece of comfort clothing, there is something to be said for wearing what flatters.

What I’m trying to say is: All trends are not for all people. Play up your favorite features, but be careful before jumping on the bandwagon because you feel like you must!

Without further ado, here are my Best and Worst of Spring trends, including things that flatter body types that aren’t just a size 2!

WORST: Light Colored Skinny Jeans

Unless your legs look like these, tread carefully with these pastel skinnies. I know, they’re adorable in photos, but wearing something that light and fitted often can make you look heavier. If you want to try the trend, maybe opt for a slightly darker color in the same palette and try a straight leg or slight bootcut.

BEST: Neon

 What’s not to love about neon? (minus that really dark time in fashion history called the 1980’s. But even so, didn’t the 80’s provide costumes for many of your favorite theme parties? Yes, yes they did.)

WORST: Flatforms

Why isn’t this a joke? These are Elizabeth & James, designed by MK&A Olsen, and they retail for $245. How is that even possible? Am I seriously missing something because these, and all other shoes with a 3 inch flat sole, are hideous. Ladies, why are we channeling Herman Munster?

BEST: Peplum


Ah-dorable. Gotta love that little blossom of fabric, accentuating ladylike curves and adding a little flavor to your silhouette. Jackets or blouses are my favorites, but if you happen to be long and lean, consider this the green light for this skirt!

Now you weigh in: Do you agree or disagree? Have you tried any of these trends yet? 

10 thoughts on “Trends For Spring: Best and Worst (part 1)

  1. Totally agree about the flatforms!!! Not to mention that wearing these as a tall girl (5’9”) would legitimately qualify me as a Herman Munster wannabe.
    Also, peplum is so adorable! I haven’t tried it yet – I’ve seen some cute dresses online but I’m a little hesitant to order one because my problem area is definitely my waist/hips and I’m worried it might enhance that rather than flatter it. But if I see one in a store, I’m definitely making a bee line for the dressing room and hopefully it’ll look amazing 🙂

  2. Your thoughts about the colored skinny jeans is so true. I tried some on last week and they did not look cute. The cuter ones were the flares.

  3. Love your best and worst. I haven’t tried on the pastel skinnies yet, but I have to admit I have been wanting some. Better try them on before ordering 🙂 Love neon too, and peplum! gotta get me some!!

    creamyclothes.blogspot.com

    1. They’re so enticing, I have to convince myself out of impulsively buying some on occasion 🙂 Try them on and see, you never how know they’ll look on! There are gorgeous ones in darker but still bright colors that you could keep an eye out for.

      Thanks for stopping by! xo Elisabeth

  4. Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this info. Today bloggers publish just about gossip and net stuff and this is really frustrating. A good site with interesting content, that is what I need. Thank you for making this web site, and I will be visiting again. Do you do newsletters? I Cant find it.

Leave a Reply

