No Excuses, No Regrets

Last night I waltzed through every excuse in the book for not exercising. I didn’t feel good yesterday… It just rained and might rain again… I didn’t drink enough water today… This chair is so soft, I don’t want to get up… I think my ankle hurts…

I could go on, but you smarty pants get the picture. Well, I thought through the next few days – when I’ll get to workout and when I won’t have time. Then I thought about the progress I’ve made so far. I know that taking a day off is healthy and fine, but taking too many off is a slippery slope to the lifestyle I used to have.

So in a moment of strength, I took ahold of that quickly fading sliver of reason, threw on my running clothes and bounced out the door! And you know what? I’m so glad I did.

I didn’t have an exact route in mind, but my goal was to run for 34 minutes without stopping, and to hit the hills as best I could.

About 6 minutes in my shoulder started hurting, but that faded. A few minutes after that my ankle started hurting, but that faded, too. I’ve learned that working out the kinks is just part of getting your body in shape. However, I’d be lying if I didn’t admit that every twinge of discomfort is a challenge I have to talk myself through as I run.

Well, whenever I met an intersection or dead end, I took the turn that went up hill. I didn’t let myself walk, I pushed through a slight cramp, and I noticed that my legs felt great, even when my breathing was heavy as I went uphill. Such an incredible feeling!

So, ladies and gentlemen, I’m proud to announce that I broke through my goal of running for 34 minutes tonight, and I broke through my 3 mile distance record and ran further than I have without stopping since maybe high school:

3.6 miles in 38 minutes 15 seconds

As I stretched to cool down I thought to myself, “I’m so glad I didn’t do myself the disservice of not running tonight.” There is something so empowering bout looking back at what you’ve done and knowing that you succeeded… and knowing that if you hadn’t done it, you wouldn’t be feeling that sense of pride.

At this rate, I’ll probably be ready for the 2016 Olympic trials. I’m basically the Nastia Liukin of working out. I’ll be signing autographs at the Y after kickboxing on Monday. See you there πŸ™‚

(That’s Nastia. In case you were in a coma in 2008, which is the only reasonable excuse for missing the Olympics, she won a 5 medals in gymnastics. Also in cuteness.)

(That’s me. I also win medals.)

6 thoughts on “No Excuses, No Regrets

  1. The “you never regret a workout” phrase is so true! Even if its just a chill 20 minutes on the elliptical. I usually have my best workouts when I least expect them. Congrats on your long run!! PS – those hills look INTENSE.

Leave a Reply

