Trends For Spring: Best and Worst (part 2)

True Confessions: I pay attention to the trends, but honestly have never really considered myself an “early adopter.” I tend to throw on things I think are fun or comfortable, but I’ll almost always go with something flattering over something trendy.

There’s a lot to be said for feeling good in what you’re wearing. Also, theres a lot to be said for not being that person every looks at and thinks “…why?” So… anyway, here is the second installation of my Best and Worst Spring Trends.

BEST: Pastels

Pastels for Spring

I really love that pastels are in again. It’s like I’m on a permanent Easter egg hunt… And I’m not going to lie, I really love(d…?) Easter egg hunts. I mean when else is your yard filled with brightly colored (sneaky, hidden) treats filled with unknown magic in the form of candy, stickers and silver dollars? Never, unless you live in Candyland. A girl can dream…

WORST: Midriff

Listen, if you’ve got the abs and the fashion drive to try it out, go for it. (This means you, Jessie. haha) But if you’ve got a curvy shape, I just think this is more of a runway-designer-fantasy than actually wearable clothing. In fact, Nina Ricci’s model just looks like she forgot to put her top on. *yikes, embarrassing 🙂

I think we should all agree that in the 1990’s, Christina Aguilera did the midriff best when “Genie in a Bottle” and “What a Girl Wants” came out. We should all just accept that and move on. It’s 2012.

BEST: Maxi-skirts

Need I say more? Atlantic-Pacific (top) and The Daybook (bottom) just look too adorable for words. I have this one. Now be off, find your deliciously comfortable and stylish maxi-skirt. Conversation over.

WORST: Midi-skirts

Specifically, pleated ones, but midi-skirts in general. Seriously, why is this trend coming back? 1940’s, grandmothers, librarians. Midi-skirts are appropriate in those contexts, but pretty much nowhere else. They are in no way flattering. Mid-calf is an awkward place to break the vertical lines of your skirt. Also, pleats? No. Talk about adding 10 lbs… you don’t even need the camera to do it.

MIDDLE GROUND:

Photo Credit: Lauren Conrad Blogger Contest

Photo Credit:  My Edit Blog

So there are my Best and Worst of 2012 Spring/Summer trends – what do you think? I’d love for y’all to weigh in on your favorites!

2 thoughts on “Trends For Spring: Best and Worst (part 2)

    1. Hmm, I guess it depends what you wear it with and how much skin it shows? Post a picture on your blog when you try it out – prove me wrong 🙂 I’m sure it will look great on you!

Leave a Reply

