You Underestimate My Sneakiness

Well, well, well. You really thought you were going to get away with it… DIDN’T YOU? You thought you could just pull the wool over my eyes and trick me? Nice try, but you can’t fool me. You’re busted.

I did a little math experiment today and was very disappointed with the results. I’ve posted the workout calendars I have been using to keep track of my exercise over the past few months, and as I filled in last night’s Jillian Michaels butt-kicking, I started wondering how many days a month I actually exercise. 

I counted up each little pink highlighted square (indicating I worked out that day) and was surprised to find that each month, without realizing it, I have worked out 2 fewer days than the month previous! Like I said, BUSTED. Talk about “slippery slope” – you can be on one without even realizing it!

And yeah, I have a million excuses. I got shin splints in February. I moved to a new apartment in March. I traveled 3 out of 4 weekends in April. But come on, that is life. The more excuses you deem acceptable, the sooner you’re going to wake up right back where you started.

So, I stumbled upon this little realization by accident, but I’m so glad I did. My goal for May is to workout MORE days than I did the first month to make up for the decrease of the past few months. My other goal is to plan ahead so that all those potential excuses can’t take root.

In the first 9 days of the month, I worked out 5 times.

I want to keep up that pace, so here is my plan:

Thursday – Day off. I know, not the best start, but I have community group tonight and am leaving town tomorrow, so I have to pack.

Friday – I leave for Charleston in the morning. It isn’t going to be fun, but I’m going to get up early and go for a 30 minute run. No distance judgment, no speed judgment, just a non-stop 30 minute run.

Saturday – CofC graduation festivities, lots of walking on the beach, around the battery, etc.

Sunday – I found some local running routes, so again, it isn’t going to be fun, but I’m going to get up early and try one of these out. Probably a short run, just to get the metabolism going.

Monday – Kickboxing and back to my regular schedule!

Keep me accountable!

Have you ever taken inventory of your workouts and been surprised? 

One thought on “You Underestimate My Sneakiness

  1. I track all mine! It’s been helpful for me to see what works and what doesn’t. Also, you can monitor your progress. I like to make sure I have two strength training days and at least 4 cardio days. My minimum is 5 days a week and always one rest day. You’ll be so happy you woke up on your trip! Jealous you’re going to Charleston! That’ll make for a gorgeous walk/run!

Leave a Reply

