Blog Challenge Day 4 – Bucket List

Day4: What you want to do before you die.

Oh, that’s an easy one. I wrote a little compilation on my Bucket List, which you can find under “About Me” (look up!) Pretty good list, though not exhaustive of course!

A few of these are admittedly silly and a bit selfish (see #49, #16, #45). There are also a few that I may never end up doing but it won’t leave me feeling unfulfilled (see #16 and #41).

However, several of those casually listed adventures are actually heavily imprinted on my heart, and I really can’t imagine a life that does not include them.

One of those is #18. Adopt a child. There are a lot of reasons I feel drawn to adoption – love of children, the desire to have a family and the happiness of remembering my own childhood. None of those is adoption-specific, of course. The adoption piece has to do with two main things: my faith and several of the developmental psychology classes I took in college.

Both reasons have long and storied explanations, so email me if you want to know them. The short versions are as follows:

Faith: Psalms 68:5-6 “A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows, is God in His holy dwelling, God sets the lonely in families . . .”

Psychology: Children who spend time in orphanages* struggle with significant mental and physically delays. They struggle with everything from language to fine motor skills like holding a pencil, largely due to the fact that orphanages are understaffed and underfunded. (*studies in Romania and Canada)

See also bucket list #3.

Another must-do is… well, look at #1, 6, 7, 12, 14, 19, 27, 30, and 37. 

Yep, travel. I have such an insatiable wanderlust that I actually don’t know how I’ve stayed in North Carolina for the past 7 years without getting stir crazy. Probably because I spent a semester in Paris and have been on some really cool short term trips in the interim (Switzerland, England, Greece, Trinidad and Belize most recently. One vacation, the rest were service trips.)

Paris 2007 – Montmartre at the Moulin Rouge

Trinidad 2008

Greece 2009 – Volos

England 2010 – Blenheim Palace

Switzerland 2010 – Grindelwald

Switzerland 2010 – Brienzee


Belize 2011 – Lamanai Mayan Ruins

For awhile I wanted to be a National Geographic photographer. (And by “for awhile” I really mean: if they offered me a job today, I’d be on the plane tomorrow) International travel. Creativity. Exotic encounters. Endless adventures. Ahhh, the good life.

I have to say, this whole “gas prices soaring” thing really only bothers me when I look at flight prices. I mean seriously, how will I ever get to the Maldives or Madagascar or Qatar for an adventure if my entire bank account is wiped out simply in trying to get there? Boo.

Here is the thing, though, I don’t love travel just for the sake of going cool places. I love history and culture. There is a reason I took a ridiculous number of history, anthropology, sociology and international relations classes in college. I’m just fascinated by other countries’ history, language, culture… I’m like a little sponge.

Anyway, those are two of the things that are top priority for me! What is on your lifelong to-do list?

2 thoughts on “Blog Challenge Day 4 – Bucket List

  1. I think all of your travel goals are awesome, especially visiting all seven continents. I’ve heard that Antarctica is lovely this time of year.

    1. Yes, and filled with snow and playful penguins. What a delight!

      Also, I read that currently no one owns Antarctica (see Treaty of 1959) so I’m thinking there is a real opportunity for takeover there. #powerhungry

Leave a Reply

