Style Post: Nautical Stripes + Lace Overlay

Top + Earrings: Target | Tank: Loft | Skirt: Forever 21 | Shoes: Guess | Ring + Bracelet: Vintage | Purse: Longchamps

I’m always trying to figure out fun ways to play with color, print, pattern and texture, and this is one of my favorite ways to do it. Lace overlay is on trend this summer, and I love this easy top from Target. Did I buy it in white too? Maybe I did… and maybe I did. Fashion faux pas? I care not.

Drawing on my vast childhood experience with Crayola crayons in Sunday School, I believe this top would qualify as jungle green. It’s the Summer to my Winter, if Winter is Olive Green in this case. I kind of can’t control how much I am gravitating to navy these days, so it was an obvious choice here as well. The nautical stripes + the navy Longchamps kept it from being too busy like adding another color or pattern would have.

An addiction? Maybe. A style crutch? I hope not. An awesome color choice to include as often as possible in my outfit? I’d say yes.

Also…

My photographer caught me in a candid moment soaking up the sun. He said I reminded him of a lazy lion. I’ll take that.

How do you mix pattern and print?

13 thoughts on “Style Post: Nautical Stripes + Lace Overlay

  1. I LOVE this outfit! I always try to mix patterns and textures, then i get too worried it looks strange and don’t end up wearing it out of my house.

    1. Thanks Hannah! Don’t worry, you always look pulled together and cute. But I’m trying to mix more patterns/textures these days too and I know what you mean. Gotta strike the balance between fun and just too much. haha

  2. Jungle green was one of my favorite crayons when I was a kid. Still love the color! I might have to check Target to see if I can get my own!

    1. Me too! haha It’s one of my favorites: bold but still pretty. Target has those tops in a bunch of colors, definitely check it out. Thanks for coming by!

  3. I’m absolutely adoring this look! The lace over the navy…genius! And that Navy Longchamps is amazing! So glad I found you. Popping over from The Pleated Poppy.

    1. Thank you, so sweet! I’ve had that navy Longchamps for years and am still in love with it 🙂 So glad you dropped by and can’t wait to keep up with your cute blog as well. xo Elisabeth

  4. Love this! You inspired me for my weekend outfit to a friend’s birthday party…I have a fab bright orange tank and had nothing but white jeans to wear it with. snagged a similar skirt from h&m and loved the look. you’d be proud 🙂

Leave a Reply

