I’m Officially A Pinterest Cliche

I had the best workout last night.

Interestingly, 2 hrs before my post-workout endorphins took over, when I was driving home from work, I basically decided to take an off night because I was feeling too tired and unmotivated.

“How did such a drastic turnaround occur?” you may be wondering to yourself. And if you’re clever (or you can read) you probably figured out the answer already. Yep, Pinterest. Specifically my “Motivation Board.”

I looked through a few inspiring images (so clichรฉ) and decided that I’d regret not pushing through my fatigue (laziness).

With my mind made up that I would, in fact, be exercising, I made a plan. I wasn’t interested in a slow long run, and didn’t feel like venturing to the gym. I needed something different. So, I zipped across the neighborhood up to a nearby high school track and started my workout.

This series of tapering intervals was just what I needed, and believe me, I’m feeling it today! On Tuesday night, I did a pretty intense leg and abs toning videos a friend let me borrow, so the combined effect is pretty brutal. And by brutal, I mean awesome. Nothing better than feeling that you worked hard the next day!

Realizing that I was pushing myself and working hard, but that I felt great (rather than miserable) was probably why I liked this workout so much. The fact that my pace didn’t slow much, even as the miles added on, makes me feel strong and excited to go for a long slower run soon!

Final thought: I think high school students are coming in tinier and tinier sizes these days. I have very distinct memories of looking totally mature and in my early 20s when I was in high school (and my memory is surely 100% accurate). Kind of like in 10 Things I Hate About You or She’s All That. Yeah, thats definitely how I remember it.

Anyway, the little high schoolers playing on the field next to the track last night simply must be a new generation of mutants or something. It’s the only logical conclusion.

Have any workouts you useย when you’re feeling bored or burned out?

10 thoughts on “I’m Officially A Pinterest Cliche

  1. WOW! I’m definitely stealing that workout. I’m so impressed! Do you do interavals like that bc you’re training for something or just because?

    1. Go ahead! Obviously the times are just what I ran, so set your own goals there depending on your pace ๐Ÿ™‚ And it is the first time I’ve done these intervals but I plan to run a half marathon in early November, so I’m definitely going to do them more often! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Go girl! Thats faster than you usually run fo’ sho! Ok now I’m definitely going to the gym tonight…. and go. Thanks for the motivation ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. They’re so great, aren’t they? I just moved to a new office and need to decorate… may go to Pinterest for some inspiration there as well ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks!

    1. That is awesome!! How is it going so far? Couch to 5k plans are usually awesome – good for you! Click on the “Motivation Board” link in my blog post if you want to see some of my motivators ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

