Style | Statement Necklace in Monochrome

Top: Modcloth | Necklace: J. Crew | Sunglasses: Canada | Skirt: LOFT | Shoes: Fioni | Bag: Street vendor in DC

A few things happened while taking these pictures:

1. A swarm of mosquitos found me.

They were certainly unwelcome guests and reminded me of one of the things I’m looking forward to about Fall: fewer bugs. The only time I don’t mind bugs is when I’m camping or hiking, and I actually really like to do both of those things, but when I’m in a skirt and heels, bugs beware!

2. I realized that I couldn’t fit into this skirt at the beginning of the summer.

Well, that certainly makes me smile. All those hours running are paying off, even if it is slow and steady and I’ve felt like I hit more plateaus than easy times. Still a ways to go, but proud of the efforts paying off. Feeling healthy is worth sweating!

3. I discovered that my selection of “statement necklaces” is pretty wimpy.

I’m linking up with Marion Berry Style today for the trend of the month challenge: Statement Necklaces! Psh, I (tentatively, casually, haltingly) call myself a personal style blogger, and here I am parading around without one of the years trendiest pieces? Don’t judge me. At least I have this fun bubble necklace, right?

Me, laughing at myself.

I’ve been wanting to put together monochromatic outfits a lot lately, but resisted pairing this top and necklace with my paper bag-waist coral shorts. You’re welcome. But now I kind of want a slice of watermelon…

Where do you get fun, trendy jewelry each season?Β 

25 thoughts on “Style | Statement Necklace in Monochrome

  1. LOVE the monochromatic necklace style! Its such a fun balanced look. And good for you for fitting in that super cute skirt πŸ™‚
    Thanks for linking up!
    XO – Marion
    ps – if it makes you feel better, my collection of statement necklaces is pathetic. It was certainly a challenge for me this time! πŸ™‚

  2. Great job on the skirt! I like this look and would have never thought to put it together. I don’t even really know what a statement necklace is. I guess I’ll google it.

  3. Stopping by from the link up…

    I LOVE THIS OUTFIT. I am so thankful someone out there has the similar mindset like me and to just keep it simple with a patterned skirt. I’m all for trying to mix prints, but this is fantastic! Looking fab!

    Clare
    Understated Classics

  4. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is great blog. An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

