Fitness | My Body Feels Awkward

I can’t figure out what type of runner I am. Or how to go from where I am to where I want to be.

For example:
I love doing tempo runs and interval training. Short, intense, over.
I can run an 8:30 mile four times, but with a break between each mile or two.
15 minutes of sprinting on the treadmill with 10 sec on/10 sec off… no problem.
But at the same time, I can run forever, in 2 mile chunks or if I go slowly, but I get bored.

It is a little frustrating, actually. I’ll do a 5k at a pretty good clip, but by the end of the run I am dead. When I run at a slower pace, my body feels awkward and disjointed like I’m one of those animated clay figures in an old Christmas special… (fast forward to 1:03)

I think ultimately I’m made to run fast, but I’m not in good enough condition to run fast for an extended period of time yet. Annoying. In the mean time, while I’m trying to ramp up the miles, maybe I should just slow down and figure out how to do that whole “pacing” thing.

So… there it is, my body feels awkward.

Welcoming pacing tips for building up distance if you have them!

On the schedule: Running a 5k a day. I’ve done 2 outside on hilly courses – both have been right under 31 minutes. The 2 done inside on the treadmill have been closer to the 29 minute mark.

Theory: The more “5k a day”s I do, the easier and faster they’ll become, giving me room to add on another mile (or 10, eventually!)

Confession: Due to travel and other worthless excuses, I worked out about 40% less in September than in the past 6 months. Not fun to rebound from, but at the gym last night (5k run + 2 mile treadmill “hike” on a 10 incline + some arms and abs) I realized how GOOD it felt to be active again.

Conclusion: Endorphins are worth it. Not falling off track again!

Keep an eye out for the big 6 month weight loss announcement soon 🙂

6 thoughts on “Fitness | My Body Feels Awkward

  1. Can I just congratulate you on running? lol I was a run-a-phobe, mainly because I have an aversion to failure but since I have been psyching myself up by starting on the bike and now I can do 30 mins on the elliptical which is REALLY REALLY big for me. So although you may feel awkward you inspire me and give me hope!

    1. Haha well, I still don’t LOVE running, but I do enjoy it sometimes, which is a new development. Mostly I love the feeling of achievement after I’ve had a good run. It’s amazing how you can improve, so don’t get discouraged. 30 mins on the elliptical and starting to bike is awesome! Keep it up! 🙂

  2. Girl. You look amazing and I am super proud and inspired by your resolve! I know you can do it! also…I’m pretty sure I have an idea of something that can help you. let’s chat soon 🙂 oh and come to run club!!

    1. Thanks, friend! It is so worth the hard work to see results, even if I still have a ways to go 🙂 Would love to hear your idea and definitely will come to run club one of these days!

    1. I don’t intentionally, I just go out too fast and then get tired, so that is why I was thinking about pacing myself. But you’re right, the “just run for 45 minutes” plan helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

