Fashion | Printed Pants

I fully believe in wearing out the season. Being that we’re having mid-September 80 degree weather over here in North Carolina, I’m getting one last use out of all the summery blouses and sandals I can. However, it has been one of those weeks where I’m bored of everything in my closet.

So, allow me to present the fall trend I’m eager to dive into: Printed Pants, yes please! (Ahem, who am I kidding, I’m already into it.) Here are a few I am loving…

Banana Republic Heritage Jacquard Skinny PantBanana Republic

Gap Midnight Chevron Ultra SkinnyGap

Jcrew Toothpick Jean in Polka DotJ. Crew

Anthropologie Pilcro Serif Cord LeggingsAnthro

JCrew Factory Printed Skinny Jean

J.Crew Factory

Free People Sergeant Printed Skinny

Free People

Quick tip – you’ve got to be careful with these. Printed pants can very easily go from cute and trendy to resembling grandmother’s curtains.

One day you’re looking at a pair of conservatively chic print pants with a nice tailored fit and you realize “Hey, I could pull this off…” so you start feeling bold. Chevron? Absolutely. Leopard? Sure, why not? Subtle jacquard… no brainer.

But in the blink of an eye you find yourself thinking “Hmm, I bet if I styled these drawstring Christmas-plaid harem pants the right way, they’d look awesome!” But you’d be wrong.

What it really comes down to is knowing your body type and personal style. For example, I know I won’t be happy with what I see if I choose a big print or a fit that adds a lot of volume. Skinny or straight leg pants in a subtle print or interesting texture make me happy.

But, at the same time, that isn’t a hard and fast rule. I mean, check out this adorable look by another Triangle-area blogger. It couldn’t be more opposite and couldn’t be cuter! Voila, printed pants done well.

Soooo, basically what I’m saying is wear whatever pants you want. But I’d highly recommend ones with a print. And not harem pants.

Where are you shopping for your favorite fall trends?

2 thoughts on “Fashion | Printed Pants

Leave a Reply

