Monday Favorites | Sensory Overload

So, I was going to start this post by saying “I decided that since the government took last week off, I’d take the week off as well.” But then I remembered how many people it is impacting, so I decided to write this instead 🙂 Ok moving right along…

With 2 weekends of travel and a wonderful golf tournament planned in between, life has been nuts. I had 5 things that made me smile last week, though, so even though I didn’t have time to fit in my Friday Favorites on Friday, here they are on Monday!! Back to blogger business as usual this week.

{1} Creative Costumes

The title of this article was a little silly (I’ll let you look it up yourself, if you like) but the pictures and creativity of the costumes made me smile.

Coco Chanel Costume

{2} Mash-up Genius

So, Miley Cyrus makes me sad and her “Wrecking Ball” video makes me even sadder (for her) BUT I have to say that the lyrics and song are beautiful. I was so excited when I came across this article about a re-make of her video — it is beautiful and genius, especially with the Mumford & Sons mash-up behind it. I hope you enjoy!

 

{3} Kitchen Magic

My creative-genius chef friend, Ali, asked me to be a recipe tester for her as she writes a cookbook about all the crazy delicious and fun dishes you can make using a spiralizer! The first recipe she asked me to test was this Tahini Vegetable Bowl from her blog, Inspiralized. I liked it so much I made it twice this week. Her picture, not mine.

Inspiralized Tahini Vegetable Bowl Recipe

 

{4} Nose Heaven

I found it. The best smell on earth. I walked into my sister’s new apartment last weekend and boom, nose heaven. Mandarin Coriander candles made by Thymes – cost you a pretty penny but if you want something light, clean and refreshing, you should check these out. Olive Leaf also receives my thumbs up. Plus, they’ve got cute little “Fragrance Profiles”.

Mandarin Coriander Candle by Thymes

 

{5} Time Spent Well

Last month, I wrote a little Philanthropy Public Service Announcement for the Raleigh world about a golf tournament fundraiser I was taking part in. Well, it happened on Friday and was tons of fun! Even better, though, is the positive ripple effect it will have on the greater Raleigh community… Specifically, the support raised on Friday will have a powerful impact on the lives of orphans and birth mothers who are vulnerable and often marginalized, as well as on the families welcoming children into forever homes. Such a beautiful picture of grace, adoption is.

Raleigh Adoption Golf Tournament

Bethany Adoption Services Raleigh Fundraiser

 

And more on this later… 🙂

2013Oct11 - Alison Bachelorette Weekend

 

What was the highlight of your weekend?

Leave a Reply

