Summer Reading List 2012

When I was younger, I absolutely loved summer reading.

Stop judging me. Nerd kids are the best. #NotEmbarrassed

Maybe it was because my summer reading list meant swim team, Camp Merri-Mac and a trip to the beach were in store, or maybe it was simply that I love(d) reading… regardless, remembering my old summer reading lists still makes me smile. Not very surprising when you know how much I love office supplies… anyway. ahem. moving on.

So, in an effort to stimulate my brain and save my eyes from the perils of staring at only screens (computer, tv) constantly, I’m making a summer reading list for 2012!

Books To Read This Summer:

The Millennium Series: The Girl With The Dragon TattooThe Girl Who Played With Fire and The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest – Stieg Larsson
Adopted for LifeRussell Moore
Sarah’s KeyTatiana de Rosnay
Crazy LoveFrancis Chan
Searching for God Knows WhatDonald Miller
The Fault in Our StarsJohn Green
Kisses from KatieKatie Davis
RadicalDavid Platt
The Great GatsbyF. Scott Fitzgerald (Not my first time reading this, don’t worry. An oldie but a goodie.)
WanderlustElisabeth Eaves (Not only do we share the spelling of our name, but the word wanderlust describes my spirit better than any other word)

my dream reading location

Recently Read:

The Girl Who Played with Fire – Stieg Larsson   (August 2012)
Sarah’s KeyTatiana de Rosnay   (July 2012)
The Girl With The Dragon TattooStieg Larsson  (June 2012)
Searching for God Knows What – Donald Miller   (May 2012)
The Lovely BonesAlice Sebold   (April 2012)
RoomEmma Donoghue   (January 2012)
The Hunger Games, Catching Fire and Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins   (October/November 2011)* 
The HelpKathryn Stockett   (September 2011)

*Note: I re-read “The Hunger Games” in February before the movie was released in March 2012 and will probably do the same with the other two as those movies come out! 

Have any suggestions to add to the list? I’d love to hear them. Also happy to give a review on any of these, just ask!

6 thoughts on “Summer Reading List 2012

  1. I haven’t heard of a lot of these! Let us know what you think of the Dragon Tatoo books…. I heard they are intenseeee! Also did you like Room? I think I’m going to read it! xoxo

    1. Happy to let you know what I think when I’m done – loved the first one but yes, very intense! And Room is the same – intense but I really loved it. The author wrote it from a cool perspective. Let me know if you read it!

Leave a Reply

