Exercise Gives You Endorphins…

Legally Blonde, anyone? No, no one else got that reference? [Seriously?] I guess some of these are just for me, folks. By the way, I have some exciting news. Keep reading 🙂

I always secretly thought that the “runner’s high” was a myth and that people who exercise all the time because it “puts them in a good mood” were just really competitive or were trying to hide compulsive tendencies. I haven’t completely abandoned that opinion (I have my eye on you, crazies!) but I do have to say that I have converted.

I am now a “runner’s high” believer, and I gotta get me some more of that.

Remember how I tried out a new approach to running – setting a time goal rather than a distance or a pace goal? Well that was a huge break through for me and I was super encouraged by the progress I made. I was also really excited to try it again, but opted to run inside for the next one instead of facing down the pollen again.

Let me just tell you, if you are on the same road I’m on, you know what a mental challenge this can be. Treadmill boredom, the really annoying 100 lb cross country star trotting at an 8.5 on the treadmill next to you, a tiring day at work… All those things make me *this* close to jumping off the treadmill about a mile and a half in, but I persevered!

Guess  what? I ran 3 miles again, and did it faster this time! Yep, that’s right – shaved over a minute off my time and ran it in 31 minutes 07 seconds this time around. Watch out, Speedy Gonzalez, I’m gunning for you.

As for the rest of my workout recap, here is what I’ve been up to:

Monday nights – Kickboxing. 45 minutes of intense jumping, kicking, punching and hip hop dance fitness. Exhausting. Awesome.

Tuesday/Wednesday – Cardio and some light weight lifting. Usually I jump on the treadmill for 30-45 minutes, then do abs using a fitness ball and medicine ball, and some “problem-area” arm workouts using 5, 8 and 10lb free weights.

Thursday – I have community group on Thursday nights, so I usually take off.

Friday – Run outside, weather permitting. Otherwise, I do some elliptical and rowing. Gotta avoid the shin splints.

Saturday/Sunday – Honestly, it depends. I need to be better about regularly exercising on the weekends.

Oh yes, and didn’t I mention that I have some good news? I lost another 3.5 lbs! Nothing motivates like success. When cravings strike, healthy food is the option because it feels so great to see that number decrease. That is a total of 8.5 lbs, and I plan on keeping ’em coming. Woo woo!

Now, please excuse me, I’m on my way to find some endorphins 🙂

11 thoughts on “Exercise Gives You Endorphins…

  1. Wooohoooo! I love your workout routine! Endorphins are no joke. I’m now a morning worker-outer because it makes my day so so so so soooo much better. I’m happy all day 🙂 So proud of you!

  2. atta girl holbs!
    I am trying the switch to running minutes next week, I can’t get my brain past 2 miles! and please tell me you have tried Zumba at some point. I started this semester and it is SO FUN! nothing gets me smiling like moveen mai heeps sahd tew sahd. keep the life updates coming, I am so excited you are in a good place 🙂

    1. Kate! I LOVE ZUMBA! It is so much fun, and ends up being a great workout. Nothing beats finding a workout you look forward to doing. Keep it up and I’m sure you’ll break through the 2 mile mark. Just set a time goal, run whatever pace feels comfortable, and be proud of whatever you end up doing!

Leave a Reply

