Then Bursting Forth In Glorious Day

Easter. What a beautiful time to celebrate life and the peace of knowing that we are loved, protected and forgiven!

It can be tricky to get all 6 members of my family in the same place, so having the whole family together was such a wonderful way to celebrate.

On Friday, we convened in Charlottesville, where the youngest of the 4 siblings is a 4th year (fancy term for Senior) at UVA. Bright and early on Saturday morning 5 of us ran in the Charlottesville 8K, and my sister, Alison, ran the half marathon. What a show off. Kidding. But seriously… 🙂

More about the Every Yard For Yeardley shirts here.

The 8K was such a fun race, though I had no idea it was possible to fit THAT many massive (read: brutal) uphills into a 5 mile run. It was sunny and cool, and even though I hadn’t run more than 3.6 miles leading up to the race, I didn’t feel particularly nervous. I knew there would be hills, but I just viewed it as another opportunity to do something healthy for my body. If I had to walk, I’d walk.

Well, I ended up surprising myself and doing the 5 miles in 50 minutes 53 seconds… which is about a 10 minute 13 second pace! 

Yep, you read that right – further and faster than I’ve gone on any of my runs up to this point! Woo woo 🙂

Post run/recovery/shower/nap, we headed to the Farmington for a delicious brunch (and well-deserved, I’d say!). Then we took a squizillion pictures outside because it was so beautiful and mainly because if you give my mom an inch, she takes a mile when it comes to family photos.

After a quick visit to my brother’s dorm room on the Lawn at UVA (these rooms are in Thomas Jefferson’s original buildings at UVA and it is quite an exciting honor for him to get to live in one!), and we were on the road to Washington DC for the night!

Isn’t DC the greatest? Especially when Spring is in full bloom like it was this weekend. We stayed in the beautiful Omni Hotel near Rock Creek Park and ate supper Saturday at a little French restaurant in Cleveland Park called Lavandou. Oh yeah, did I mention that my brother’s fiancée surprised him by coming down from NYC to join us? SO. FUN. Nothing is better than 6 Holbys together, except 6 Holbys + our favorite tag-alongs 🙂 (That’s you, Addie, Phil and Mary!)

That night we went to an Easter Vigil Service at my sister’s church (Church of the Advent). Historically, this service walks through the whole Bible narrative with readings about God’s goodness, man’s need for salvation and Jesus’ role as the Savior of all of us broken people…  It is intended to be the first celebration of Easter and Jesus’ resurrection.

It was a pretty incredible service. So many beautiful hymns and what I loved was the sense of joy, excitement and celebration. And, of course, we sang my favorite song: “In Christ Alone.”  These lines pretty well sum up the service:

There in the ground His body lay
Light of the world by darkness slain:
Then bursting forth in glorious Day
Up from the grave he rose again!
And as He stands in victory
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me,
For I am His and He is mine –
Bought with the precious blood of Christ.

No guilt in life, no fear in death,
This is the power of Christ in me;
From life’s first cry to final breath.
Jesus commands my destiny.
No power of hell, no scheme of man,
Can ever pluck me from His hand;
Till He returns or calls me home,
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand.

By the time we got back to the hotel around midnight Saturday, we were all pretty loopy (5:45am wake up call does that to a person), so naturally we spent an hour laughing our heads off at childhood stories and Youtube videos. Did I mention my mom got us all Easter treats?

On Sunday, my sister’s friend Eleanor (who was on our Ragnar Relay Team!) had about 50 friends over for a fun brunch at her house, which is a possibly haunted yet amazing Victorian home tucked away in Mt. Pleasant. De-licious… Enough said. Sadly, all good things come to an end, so as we left the brunch, the “goodbye’s” began.

Happily, we’ll all be together again in May for the little bro’s UVA graduation and then again in June for the big bro’s wedding!! Oh man, so exciting.

How was your Easter weekend? I hope it was wonderful!

4 thoughts on “Then Bursting Forth In Glorious Day

  1. How fun to run an 8K with your family! I love that…and it does look like a hilly course! Nicely done 🙂
    And is that the view from your brother’s dorm room? Geesh…that is gorgeous. Mine backed up to the building’s garbage bin 😦 No bueno!

    Looks like a perfect Easter weekend!
    XO – Marion

    1. It was a perfect Easter weekend! And that hilly course has inspired a few more hilly workouts since I’ve been back. I’m guessing out in CO you have no shortage of those! And yes, his dorm is on The Lawn at UVA, which is ridiculously beautiful. Ahh, to be in college again 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!
      xo Elisabeth

Leave a Reply

